Saturday, December 22, 2012

The Secret Gift Of Screws 2001

Hyperactive young finger-picker bound for glory.

Essential Oils -- are wrung --
The Attar from the Rose
Be not expressed by Suns -- alone --
It is the gift of Screws --

The General Rose -- decay --
But this -- in Lady's Drawer
Make Summer -- When the Lady lie
In Ceaseless Rosemary --

                                                - Emily Dickinson

Sessions for the original Gift Of Screws began soon after Out Of The Cradle's release and proceeded throughout the nineties. But when WEA execs heard Buckingham's mixed and mastered CD, it was obvious how much more valuable these gems would be as Fleetwood Mac. So seven tracks were tweaked and Stevie'd for inclusion on 2003's Say You Will. Other Gift Of Screws tunes turned up on solo and group projects over the years, the title cut finally appearing as such in 2008, but here's the CD submitted to Warners in 2001 plus four outs and demos (*), easily revertable to the official seventeen track CD with running sequence in first download. As said, remixes or remakes of many titles are available elsewhere, but they make a fine song cycle as originally intended. Shadow Of The West compiles twenty soundtrack contributions, live cuts, outtakes, demos and guest appearances from 1979 to 2012, as well as the clean, minimal mix of "I Know I'm Not Wrong" used on Tusk vinyl that somehow managed to escape digital issue until Giant Tusk's release in 2015. Secret Screws has been assembled from CD, torrent, message board and YouTube, so bitrates are what they are.

Gift Of Screws
Warner/Reprise 2001 (unreleased)
01 Someone's Gotta Change Your Mind
02 Miranda
03 Steal Your Heart Away
04 Red Rover
05 Come
06 She Smiled Sweetly
07 Down On Rodeo
08 Murrow
09 To Try For The Sun
10 Shuffle Riff
11 My Little Demon*
12 Deep Dense*
13 Gift Of Screws
14 Bleed To Love Her
15 Go Insane
16 Given Thing*
17 Gotta Get Away
18 Twist Of Fate
19 Wear You Down (Steve's Riff)*
20 Say Goodbye
21 The Singer Not The Song

Shadow Of The West
01 I Know I'm Not Wrong (Tusk vinyl mix)
02 Demo #2 (Tusk demo)
03 Blue Monday (Mirage jam)
04 Goodbye Angel (Mirage outtake)
05 Teen Beat (Mirage outtake)
06 Holiday Road (live on WBCN Boston 03-26-93)
07 Eyes Of The World (Mirage demo)
08 Hold Me (Mirage w/ Lindsey lead vocal)
09 Time Bomb Town (Back To The Future OST)
10 I've Been Loving You Too Long (Mirage jam)
11 I Want You Back (Mick Fleetwood's Zoo)
12 Magnet And Steel (Walter Egan)
13 The Spinning Of The World (John Stewart)
14 Walls (Tom Petty)
15 On The Wrong Side (With Honors OST)
16 Peacekeeper (solo outtake)
17 Stephanie (live in Fort Worth 08-24-12)
18 She Acts Like You (This Is 40 OST)
19 Shadow Of The West (Law And Order)
20 The Farmer's Daughter (Fleetwood Mac Live)

Secret Gift Of Screws
Shadow Of The West


hideo said...

takes me back to the Mac days--thanks, reservatory

Anonymous said...

terrific music, some kind of "white album", i've been listening to it with pleasure many times over.

reservatory said...

All in all, maybe his best solo album?

Alan said...

Thank you so much for this!

phil said...

hi - any chance of reposting the zippy file for Gift Of Screws, please? many thanks!

reservatory said...

Should be back up. Enjoy!

Benjamin Telfer said...

Any chance of a re-up of Shadow Of The West? Thanks!

reservatory said...


phil said...

many, many thanks!