Saturday, December 22, 2012

The Secret Gift Of Screws 2001

Hyperactive young finger-picker bound for glory.

Essential Oils -- are wrung --
The Attar from the Rose
Be not expressed by Suns -- alone --
It is the gift of Screws --

The General Rose -- decay --
But this -- in Lady's Drawer
Make Summer -- When the Lady lie
In Ceaseless Rosemary --

                                                - Emily Dickinson

Sessions for the original Gift Of Screws began soon after Out Of The Cradle's release and proceeded throughout the nineties. But when WEA execs heard Buckingham's mixed and mastered CD, it was obvious how much more valuable these gems would be as Fleetwood Mac. So seven tracks were tweaked and Stevie'd for inclusion on 2003's Say You Will. Other Gift Of Screws tunes turned up on solo and group projects over the years, the title cut finally appearing as such in 2008, but here's the CD submitted to Warners in 2001 plus four outs and demos (*), easily revertable to the official seventeen track CD with running sequence in first download. As said, remixes or remakes of many titles are available elsewhere, but they make a fine song cycle as originally intended. Shadow Of The West compiles twenty soundtrack contributions, live cuts, outtakes, demos and guest appearances from 1979 to 2012, as well as the clean, minimal mix of "I Know I'm Not Wrong" used on Tusk vinyl that somehow managed to escape digital issue until Giant Tusk's release in 2015. Secret Screws has been assembled from CD, torrent, message board and YouTube, so bitrates are what they are.

Gift Of Screws
Warner/Reprise 2001 (unreleased)
01 Someone's Gotta Change Your Mind
02 Miranda
03 Steal Your Heart Away
04 Red Rover
05 Come
06 She Smiled Sweetly
07 Down On Rodeo
08 Murrow
09 To Try For The Sun
10 Shuffle Riff
11 My Little Demon*
12 Deep Dense*
13 Gift Of Screws
14 Bleed To Love Her
15 Go Insane
16 Given Thing*
17 Gotta Get Away
18 Twist Of Fate
19 Wear You Down (Steve's Riff)*
20 Say Goodbye
21 The Singer Not The Song

Shadow Of The West
01 I Know I'm Not Wrong (Tusk vinyl mix)
02 Demo #2 (Tusk demo)
03 Blue Monday (Mirage jam)
04 Goodbye Angel (Mirage outtake)
05 Teen Beat (Mirage outtake)
06 Holiday Road (live on WBCN Boston 03-26-93)
07 Eyes Of The World (Mirage demo)
08 Hold Me (Mirage w/ Lindsey lead vocal)
09 Time Bomb Town (Back To The Future OST)
10 I've Been Loving You Too Long (Mirage jam)
11 I Want You Back (Mick Fleetwood's Zoo)
12 Magnet And Steel (Walter Egan)
13 The Spinning Of The World (John Stewart)
14 Walls (Tom Petty)
15 On The Wrong Side (With Honors OST)
16 Peacekeeper (solo outtake)
17 Stephanie (live in Fort Worth 08-24-12)
18 She Acts Like You (This Is 40 OST)
19 Shadow Of The West (Law And Order)
20 The Farmer's Daughter (Fleetwood Mac Live)

Secret Gift Of Screws
Shadow Of The West

Thursday, December 20, 2012

The Secret Open 2004

Q-Tip had a tough time carrying on the fusion of jazz, rock and hip-hop that made A Tribe Called Quest such a big deal. Soon after his second solo effort, 2002's Kamaal The Abstract, was shelved by troubled Arista, he signed with equally troubled DreamWorks and recorded a whole other project called Open, featuring guitarist Kurt Rosenwinkel with guest appearances by Common, D'Angelo and Andre 3000. But Open went unreleased as well, with DreamWorks shutting down for good one year later. Q-Tip fled to Universal Motown, who promised to release a reworked Open as Live At The Renaissance and then didn't. Finally, in 2008, rescued Open tracks appeared on The Renaissance and Abstract Innovations, with Kamaal The Abstract seeing light of day the following year. Many Secret Open tracks were scrounged from YouTube, so bitrates may disappoint. Pie is never free.

DreamWorks 2004 (unreleased)
01 Johnny Died
02 Black Boy
03 The Official
04 N/A (w/ Common)
05 Say Something For Me
06 Interlude
07 Not Gone Have It
08 Unknown
09 Feelings
10 Where Do You Go?
11 Unidentified
12 That's Sexy (w/ Andre 3000)
13 Late Mornin'
14 Compute
15 I Believe (w/ D'Angelo)
16 Lisa (extended instrumental)
17 Instrumental
18 Lisa (originial)


Wednesday, December 19, 2012

Faraquet Live In Cincinnati 06-28-99 Chokebore - Unwound - Phleg Camp - Pitch Fork - Tom Verlaine

01 Yo Yo
02 Whole Thing Over
03 Study In Movement
04 Um Die Ecke
05 Review
06 Call It Sane
07 Pretty (Without The R)
08 The Alaskas
09 Corpse Pose
10 Everything Is Weird
11 Twilight Pink
12 Hog Bottom
13 Thin Ice
14 Goat
15 Sinking
16 Clear It Away
17 Bomb

01-07 Faraquet live in Cincinnati 06-28-99
08 from Chokebore Black Black LP
09-10 Unwound 45
11-12 Phleg Camp 45
13-15 Pitch Fork Saturn Outhouse 45
16-17 Tom Verlaine live in Berlin 04-03-87

Future Noise